"His tunes encompass a four cornered room of Classical and experimental Jazz, using some very minimalist tendencies with operatic sensitivity. The simple nature of the tunes trapped inside the digital disc coincided after I spent much of the weekend before restoring an older stereo vacuum tube amplifier for my living room. Personally I like that tube sound to really hear details, and after about 4 or 5 conscious repeated hearings it became very intoxicating, and slightly hypnotic. Only then I was able to engage in the subtle improvisation of it all. Not intended for the weak or frail, this is a mentally stimulating experience."- Radionic KKFI 90.1 FM Omaha

"atmospheric rock with a nod toward jazz...the group's music could have served as a soundtrack to NASA's Apollo films from the 60s and 70s"- Torleif Sorenson, The Metropolitan Online (Mar 11, 2011)

Aaron Kerr's Dissonant Creatures is the brainchild of cellist and composer Aaron Kerr. Aaron released his debut solo cello CD Arco 71 in 2006 and was awarded a 2006 McKnight Foundation Fellowship for the compositions on the album. Aaron released his second album, Dissonant Creatures, in 2009 and worked closely with band mates Tyson Allison (The Sleeper Pins, Swallows, Layers&Layers) and Jeff Crandall (Swallows, J. Briozo) on arrangements and production. During the summer of 2009, Aaron took a new set and an improvisational band concept on the road and, in the process, Aaron Kerr's Dissonant Creatures was born. A live EP of the Scorpio Rising material was recorded during the tour and was released as Scorpio Rising: Live at the Picador in 2009. The concept is that Aaron has a set established groove for the drums and bass for each song and then the other players solo over it, following Aaron's conducted improvisation. It enables a jazz formula to work in a jam band setting, and is always wild and unpredictable! 

Aaron Kerr's Dissonant Creatures current line-up features Aaron Kerr (cello, electric cello, piano), Justin DeLeon (drums), Tyson Allison (keyboards, loops), Matt Kanive (bass), Jeff Crandall (guitars), Toni Tinetti (cello), Brett Hansen (guitar), Sean Egan (clarinet) and Mike Nordby (mandolin, percussion).


Aaron Kerr--cello 
Jeff Crandall--guitar 
Tyson Allison--analog synth, effects 
Justin Deleon--drums, percussion 
Steve Nord--bass

Recorded live at the Picador in Iowa City, Iowa

Art and Design by Jeff Crandall

Copyright Emperor Penguin Records

Add To Cart